Teachers of the Year for 2002

Kirksville Chapter of Sigma Xi

News Release:  April 26, 2002

Arp and Harvey Named "Teachers of the Year"

Darren Arp and Denise Harvey have been named “Outstanding Science/Math Teachers of the Year” for 2002 by the Kirksville Chapter of Sigma Xi.  Mr. Arp teaches sixth grade in the Canton R-V School District, and was selected for the Outstanding Elementary School Teacher award.  Ms. Harvey was chosen to receive the Outstanding Secondary School Teacher award.  She teaches mathematics in the Clark County R-1 High School.  These two awards are given annually by the Kirksville Chapter of Sigma Xi to recognize outstanding math and science teachers in Northeastern Missouri.  In announcing these awards, Michael Goggin, Ph.D., chairperson of the selection committee and President of the Kirksville Chapter of Sigma Xi said, “Mr. Arp and Ms. Harvey exemplify the dedication and talent required to teach science well.  It is a pleasure to recognize such outstanding science and math educators from Northeast Missouri.”

Mr. Arp has been teaching science in the fifth and sixth grades for the past six years.  He is known for his enthusiasm, for the individualized attention he gives to his students, and for encouraging his students to strive to do their very best.  To this end, Arp incorporates “hands-on/minds-on activities and cooperative learning groups” into his classroom teaching.  He also co-sponsors an after-school Science Club for fifth and sixth grade students.  One of the other teachers in the Canton Schools said that Arp’s “ability to challenge, encourage and to enthuse all of his students is an inspiration to his fellow teachers.”  Arp received what is perhaps the highest accolade a teacher can earn when one of his students stated that he “is a really fun and cool teacher. He has really fun and awesome experiments.”

Mrs. Harvey has been teaching pre-algebra and algebra in the ninth to twelfth grades since 1987.  She is known by her co-workers as a teacher who “is always willing to work before or after school with her students.  She is always patient when they come for extra help.”  One of Harvey’s former students noted that she was one of the most respected teachers in the Clark County High School and commented that “She has the unique ability to motivate students to achieve her high standards while treating all fairly.”  In addition to serving as head of the high school Math Department, Harvey co-sponsors the Clark County R-1 Campus Bowl Team, and has also been active as a volunteer in the Missouri Assessment Program.  When describing Mrs. Harvey, one of her colleagues pointed out that “Someone with her ability and expertise would be successful in any setting, yet she chooses to devote her talent, time and energy to the youth of our community.”

Sigma Xi is a national honor society for science and engineering, dedicated to promoting scientific enterprise and honoring scientific achievements.  The Kirksville Chapter was founded in 1989 and is comprised principally of faculty and students from Truman State University and Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine.  The Teacher of the Year Awards are made as part of the Kirksville Chapter’s efforts to promote science in Northeast Missouri.  In describing Sigma Xi’s goals, Goggin noted that “In our increasingly technological age, our children need the best science and math education possible.  By recognizing outstanding teachers in science and math the Kirksville Chapter of Sigma Xi hopes to encourage all current science and math teachers in their pursuit of excellence and to identify role models for beginning teachers.”  In addition to recognizing outstanding teachers, the Kirksville Chapter of Sigma Xi also arranges for its members to assist local science teachers by bringing talks, demonstrations, and small-scale experiments into the classroom.

Return to:  top

Return to:  "Teacher of the Year" page

Return to:  Kirksville Sigma Xi Chapter home page

Created:  April 26, 2002.  Last update:  April 26, 2002

If you have any problems or questions about this site, please contact James Rhodes at JRhodes@KCOM.edu or (660) 626-2753