Primary/Secondary School Volunteers by Subject

Kirksville Chapter of Sigma Xi

The following members of the Kirksville Chapter of Sigma Xi have volunteered to speak or give demonstrations in primary or secondary schools.  For more information about a volunteer, click on his/her name.  This list is organized by general subject categories;  you can also see this list organized by volunteer's name or by topic.

Agriculture, Anatomy, Biochemistry, Botany, Chemistry, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Physics, Physiology, Psychology, Statistics, Zoology

Name

Department &

Institution

Telephone, FAX, &

e-mail

Suggested topics

Agriculture

Seipel,

Michael

Agriculture,

  Truman

660-785-4316 (phone)

660-785-7604 (FAX)

MSeipel@Truman.edu

  • Sustainable agriculture practices for Northeast Missouri

  • Feed efficiency of pastured poultry

  • Social & economic impacts of corporate farms

  • Agricultural development in rural Ghana

Wehner,

Glenn

Agriculture,

  Truman

660-785-4593 (phone)

660-785-7604 (FAX)

GWehner@Truman.edu

  • Animal nutrition

  • Beef cattle production

  • Sheep production

  • Meats, meat processing and handling

  • Animal science

  • General agriculture

Anatomy

Rhodes,

Diana

Anatomy,

  KCOM

660-626-2149 (phone)

660-626-2346 (FAX)

DRhodes@ATSU.edu

  • Anatomy

  • Kidney

  • Scientific method

  • Basic immunology

  • Basic pathology

Rhodes,

James

Anatomy,

  KCOM

660-626-2753 (phone)

660-626-2346 (FAX)

JRhodes@ATSU.edu

  • Cell biology

  • Histology/microscopic anatomy

  • Gross anatomy

  • Biochemistry

  • Skin

  • General zoology

Towns,

Lex

Anatomy,

  KCOM

660-626-2349 (phone)

660-626-2346 (FAX)

LTowns@ATSU.edu

  • Anatomy

  • Neuroanatomy

Uray,

Nandor

Anatomy,

  KCOM

660-626-2489 (phone)

660-626-2346 (FAX)

NUray@ATSU.edu

  • Anatomy

  • Neuroanatomy

  • Nervous system development

  • The human body

  • The human nervous system

  • Cerebellar development

Biochemistry

Sexton,

Patricia

Biochemistry,

  KCOM

660-626-2294 (phone)

660-626-2981 (FAX)

PSexton@ATSU.edu

  • Herbal medicine

  • Eating disorders

  • Eye

Botany

Carroll,

Steve

Biology,

  Truman

660-785-4610 (phone)

660-785-4045 (FAX)

SCarroll@Truman.edu

  • Pollination biology

  • Plant reproduction

  • Garden ecology

  • Ecology of a native violet

Osborn,

Jeffrey M.

Biology,

  Truman

660-785-4017 (phone)

660-785-4045 (FAX)

JOsborn@Truman.edu

  • Fossil plants

  • Antarctica

  • Plant evolution

  • Pollen

  • Pollination

Chemistry

Baughman,

Russell G.

Chemistry,

  Truman

660-785-4627 (phone)

660-785-4045 (FAX)

Baughman@Truman.edu,

  • X-ray diffraction

  • Molecular Structure and bonding

  • Crystals (growth and shapes)

Microbiology

Cooper,

Cynthia

Biology,

  Truman

660-785-4082 (phone)

660-785-4045 (FAX)

CLCooper@Truman.edu

  • Microbiology

  • Cell biology

  • Molecular biology

  • Neuroscience

  • Immunology

Herrera,

Jose

Biology,

  Truman

660-785-4616 (phone)

660-785-4045 (FAX)

JHerrera@Truman.edu

  • Microbial ecology

  • Mycology

  • Fungal-vertebrate interactions

Pharmacology

Darmani,

Nissar

Pharmacology

  KCOM

660-626-2326 (phone)

660-626-2728 (FAX)

NDarmani@ATSU.edu

  • Pharmacology

  • Drugs of abuse

Theobald,

Robert

Pharmacology,

  KCOM

660-626-2320 (phone)

660-626-2728 (FAX)

RTheobald@ATSU.edu

  • Pharmacology

  • Urinary bladder function

  • Therapeutic use of drugs

  • ATP as a neurotransmitter

  • Nitric oxide

  • Careers in research

Physics

Goggin,

Michael

Physics,

  Truman

660-785-4410 (phone)

660-785-7604 (FAX)

MGoggin@Truman.edu

  • General physics

  • Optics

  • Lasers

  • Chaos

  • Quantum mechanics

  • Relativity

Physiology

Baer,

Rob

Physiology,

  KCOM

660-626-2321 (phone)

660-626-2965 (FAX)

RBaer@ATSU.edu

  • Physiology of the heart

  • Physiology of the lung

Carlson,

George

Physiology,

  KCOM

660-626-2328 (phone)

660-626-2965 (FAX)

CCarlson@ATSU.edu

  • Nervous system

Geisbuhler,

Timothy

Physiology,

  KCOM

660-626-2965 (phone)

660-626-2965 (FAX)

TGeisbuhler@ATSU.edu

  • Heart failure

  • Heart disease

  • Endocrinology

  • Cardiac metabolism

Peterson,

D. Fred

Physiology,

  KCOM

660-626-2309 (phone)

660-626-2965 (FAX)

FPeterson@ATSU.edu

  • Healthy lifestyle, healthy heart

  • What controls my heart beat and what goes wrong when it doesn't

  • Health & fitness

  • Cardiovascular physiology

  • American Heart Association

  • Gastrointestinal physiology

Sexton,

Bill

Physiology,

  KCOM

660-626-2324 (phone)

660-626-2965 (FAX)

WSexton@ATSU.edu

  • Microcirculation in muscle and heart

  • Exercise and training

  • Diabetes

  • Emphysema

  • Respiratory function

  • Transfer of oxygen from air to tissue

Psychology

McGovern,

Rene

Family Practice, Preventative Medicine, and Community Health,

  KCOM

660-626-2844 (phone)

660-626-2919 (FAX)

RMcGovern@ATSU.edu

  • Foundations of prejudice:  the brown eye/blue eye activity

  • Common illusions:  tricks the mind plays

  • Learning and memory:  it is easier than you think

  • What is mental illness?

Smith,

Karen

Social Science,

  Truman

660-785-6033 (phone)

660-785-4337 (FAX)

KSmith@Truman.edu

  • Perceptual psychology

  • Implicit learning

  • Visual illusions

Statistics

Johnson,

Jane

Office of Research Support,

  KCOM

660-626-2397 (phone)

660-626-2099 (FAX)

JJohnson@ATSU.edu

  • Biostatistics

  • Statistics and probability

  • Research design fundamentals

Zoology

Burt,

Scott

Biology,

  Truman

660-785-7133 (phone)

660-785-4045 (FAX)

SBurt@Truman.edu

  • Missouri mammals (distribution & natural history)

  • Natural history & conservation of bats

  • Importance of natural history collections

  • Ecomorphology

  • Systematics & evolution

"KCOM" refers to Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine, 800 W. Jefferson Street, Kirksville, MO 63501. More information about KCOM can be found at: http://www.KCOM.edu.

"Truman" refers to Truman State University, 100 E. Normal Street, Kirksville, MO 63501. More information about Truman State University can be found at: http://www.Truman.edu.

Agriculture, Anatomy, Biochemistry, Botany, Chemistry, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Physics, Physiology, Psychology, Statistics, Zoology

Return to:  top

Return to:  Community Outreach Committee home page

Return to:  Kirksville Sigma Xi Chapter home page

Created:  February 7, 2002.  Last update:  September 3, 2004

If you have any problems or questions about this site, please contact James Rhodes at JRhodes@ATSU.edu or (660) 626-2753