Speaker's Bureau Volunteers by Name

Kirksville Chapter of Sigma Xi

The following members of the Kirksville Chapter of Sigma Xi have volunteered to speak to local (adult) organizations about topics in their areas of expertise.  For more information about a speaker, click on his/her name.  Click here for a list arranged by topic.  If you are looking for someone to speak to a youth organization, please see our Classroom Assistance Project.

Name

Department &

Institution

Telephone, FAX, &

e-mail

Suggested topics

Baughman,

Russell G.

Chemistry,

  Truman

660-785-4045 (phone)

660-785-4045 (FAX)

Baughman@Truman.edu,

  • X-ray diffraction
  • Molecular Structure and bonding
  • Crystals (growth and shapes)

Carroll,

Steve

Biology,

  Truman

660-785-4610 (phone)

660-785-4045 (FAX)

SCarroll@Truman.edu

  • Garden ecology

  • Pollination biology

  • Public gardens as a local resource

Geisbuhler,

Timothy

Physiology,

  KCOM

660-626-2965 (phone)

660-626-2965 (FAX)

TGeisbuhler@ATSU.edu

  • Heart failure

  • Heart disease

  • Endocrinology

  • Cardiac metabolism

Goggin,

Michael

Physics,

  Truman

660-785-4410 (phone)

660-785-7604 (FAX)

MGoggin@Truman.edu

  • Non-linear dynamics and chaos

  • Quantum chaos

  • Lasers

  • Laser cooling and trapping of neutral atoms

  • General topics in physics

Herrera,

Jose

Biology,

  Truman

660-785-4616 (phone)

660-785-4045 (FAX)

JHerrera@Truman.edu

  • Microbial ecology

  • Mycology

  • Fungal-vertebrate interactions

Johnson,

Jane

Office of Research Support,

  KCOM

660-626-2397 (phone)

660-626-2099 (FAX)

JJohnson@ATSU.edu

  • Biostatistics

  • Statistics and probability

  • Research design fundamentals

McGovern,

Rene

Family Practice, Preventative Medicine, and Community Health,

  KCOM

660-626-2844 (phone)

660-626-2919 (FAX)

RMcGovern@ATSU.edu

  • Elderlynk:  seamless mental health care for the elderly in Northeast Missouri.

Osborn,

Jeffrey M.

Biology,

  Truman

660-785-4017 (phone)

660-785-4045 (FAX)

JOsborn@Truman.edu

  • Fossil plants

  • Antarctica

  • Plant evolution

  • Pollen

  • Pollination

Ousterhout,

Julia

Pharmacology,

   KCOM

660-626-2728 (phone)

660-626-2728 (FAX)

JOusterhout@ATSU.edu

  • Drug interactions:  the good, the bad, and the ugly

  • Herbal medicine:  hope or hype?

Peterson,

D. Fred

Physiology,

  KCOM

660-626-2309 (phone)

660-626-2965 (FAX)

FPeterson@ATSU.edu

  • Healthy lifestyle, healthy heart

  • What controls my heart beat and what goes wrong when it doesn't

  • Health & fitness

  • Cardiovascular physiology

  • American Heart Association

  • Gastrointestinal physiology

Rhodes,

James

Anatomy,

  KCOM

660-626-2753 (phone)

660-626-2346 (FAX)

JRhodes@ATSU.edu

  • Cell biology & how the body is put together

Seipel,

Michael

Agriculture,

  Truman

660-785-4316 (phone)

660-785-7604 (FAX)

MSeipel@Truman.edu

  • Sustainable agriculture practices for Northeast Missouri

  • Feed efficiency of pastured poultry

  • Social & economic impacts of corporate farms

  • Agricultural development in rural Ghana

Sexton,

Bill

Physiology,

  KCOM

660-626-2324 (phone)

660-626-2965 (FAX)

WSexton@ATSU.edu

  • Microcirculation in muscle and heart

  • Exercise and training

  • Diabetes

  • Emphysema

  • Respiratory function

  • Transfer of oxygen from air to tissue

Theobald,

Robert

Pharmacology,

  KCOM

660-626-2320 (phone)

660-626-2728 (FAX)

RTheobald@ATSU.edu

  • Controlling the urinary bladder

  • Drug treatment of arthritis

  • General pharmacology

  • Teaching pharmacology to medical students

Towns,

Lex

Anatomy,

  KCOM

660-626-2349 (phone)

660-626-2346 (FAX)

LTowns@ATSU.edu

  • Anatomical gifts:  body donations for use in medical school teaching

  • How we teach anatomy in medical school

Wehner,

Glenn

Agriculture,

  Truman

660-785-4593 (phone)

660-785-7604 (FAX)

GWehner@Truman.edu

  • Animal nutrition

  • Beef cattle production

  • Sheep production

  • Meats, meat processing and handling

  • Animal science

  • General agriculture

"KCOM" refers to Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine, 800 W. Jefferson Street, Kirksville, MO 63501. More information about KCOM can be found at: http://www.KCOM.edu.

"Truman" refers to Truman State University, 100 E. Normal Street, Kirksville, MO 63501. More information about Truman State University can be found at: http://www.Truman.edu.

Return to:  top

Return to:  Community Outreach Committee home page

Return to:  Kirksville Sigma Xi Chapter home page

Created:  August 29, 2002.  Last update:  April 27, 2004

If you have any problems or questions about this site, please contact James Rhodes at JRhodes@ATSU.edu or (660) 626-2753